Uncategorized

LOVE POTION #9!

Love Potion #9 is a wonderful song, but the love potion I’m talking about doesn’t come from a gold-capped toothed woman named Madame Ruth on 34th and Vine and it certainly shouldn’t be brewed in the kitchen sink.

No… I’m talking about Amortentia. The most powerful love potion in the world according to the wizarding world of Harry Potter. You know the one, with its distinctive mother-of-pearl sheen and spiraling steam that rises gently from the top. Another telltale sign of Amortentia are the multifaceted scents it gives off depending on the person inhaling its fumes.

anigif_original-grid-image-9238-1423169050-9
Tut, tut, Hermione… You forgot Ron Weasley’s hair. 😉

What originally made me want to post about Amortentia (Harry Potter obsession aside, ahem…) was the overwhelming scent of honeysuckle that slapped me in the face just the other day.

Honeysuckle has long been a favorite scent of mine and is associated with so many happy memories that I cannot help but smile softly whenever I smell it. It’s such a favorite scent that I think if it were a wand wood choice for Ollivanders, my wand would definitely have been made of it instead of Ash.

Naturally, when I thought of honeysuckle being part of my Amortentia potion, I immediately thought of what the rest of it would smell like.

It would consist of honeysuckle, pool water and dragon’s blood incense. Pool water makes me think of my childhood when I would go with my mom to the public pool every day during the summer.

The Dragon’s Blood incense is purely brought to mind because of my husband, who is the one ultimately responsible for my happiness and contentment in life. It’s his favorite scent of incense and we burn it often.

Before he came into my life, I would say my third scent would have been freshly mown grass, just like Hermione. But like Nymphadora Tonks’ Patronus changing with her growing love for Remus, my Amortentia includes the one I  love most in this world.

So! With that being said, what would your potion smell like?

And for those who might be curious… I’m a Hufflepuff Alum, my Patronus is a Weasel and my wand is Ash, 11 3/4, Brittle and the core is a Dragon heartstring. I like to think the dragon who kindly supplied it would have been an Antipodean Opaleye.

 

8 thoughts on “LOVE POTION #9!”

  1. I love when you talk HP, but I’d love even more to read some of your theory stuff!!!

    I think my three… what were they? Thunderstorm air (ozone), a fishing lake (which always smells like fish to some degree), and Nag Champa incense because you love it so much and it brought us together in the incense world when we first got together, and when I smell it I think of you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Honeysuckle brings back some good memories. It grew along the fence line of my childhood home. In the spring we would pick it and taste the nectar.

    My potion would smell like:
    – Freshly mown grass. I know I am copying Hermione and your original Patronus, but I really like the smell.
    – The smell of water when it first comes out of a garden hose that has been laying in the sun.
    – Wet dog smell. This actually smells terrible but it reminds me of my furry companions and the shenanigans they get up to.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

