Uncategorized

ONE-LINER WEDNESDAY // XLIII

I love thee with a love I seemed to lose
With my lost saints–I love thee with the breath,
Smiles, tears, of all my life!–and, if God choose,
I shall but love thee better after death.

I was first introduced to the writings of Elizabeth Barrett Browning when my mother handed me her copy of Sonnets from the Portuguese with an inscription inside that spoke of her undying love for me, her young daughter. These sonnets may be written for her (Elizabeth’s) lover, but I can only think of my mom every time I read it.

I must have read it from cover to cover a dozen or more times but it wasn’t until I grew in understanding that I came to appreciate the love and devotion found within its dog-eared pages. She and I have had so many ups and downs and misunderstandings and fallouts that to think upon it in any capacity hurts my heart and makes me feel like I’m a terrible daughter.

We’ve recently come to better understand one another and as the days go by, I no longer resent just how much like my mother I am. I’m coming to appreciate it very much, indeed. I’m so grateful I’m not too late to tell her how much I love her. So, momma…

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways…

ebbrowni

One-Liner Wednesday was brought to you by Linda G Hill.

5 thoughts on “ONE-LINER WEDNESDAY // XLIII”

    1. Thank you! It’s probably her most famous poem and I really didn’t want to use it, but unfortunately it just came out that way. I have so many other favorites of hers, though. But hey, the muse wants what the muse wants, right? xoxo

      Liked by 2 people

  1. That is awesome. Forgive me for the bit of levity I am about to write. My wife and I are somewhat uncultured when it comes to poetry and poets. When we watch Jeopardy I always answer every clue in a Poetry category, “Who is Keats?” My wife always answers, you guessed it, “Who is Elizabeth Barrett Browning?”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

